Md. high school, N.J. college students win student press awards

SPLC presented the Courage in Student Journalism Award, co-sponsored by theNewseum and the National Scholastic Press Association, to student editorsJaishri Shankar and Rachel Wagner, adviser Peter Daddone and Principal DebraMunk of Maryland’s Rockville High School for their joint efforts inpublishing a package of stories exposing gang activity in the neighborhood. Itwas the first time administrators and students at the same school had shared theaward. At the National College Media Convention, SPLC presented the CollegePress Freedom Award to the editors and staff of the Montclarion at NewJersey’s Montclair State University to recognize their successful fightfor independence from the student government association.

Photo: SPLC’s Executive Director Frank LoMonte, center, presents the Couragein Student Journalism Award to Jaishri Shankar, Rachel Wagner, Debra Munk andPeter Daddone, from left, of Rockville High School.