Thank you

The Student Press Law Center gratefully acknowledges the generous support of the following organizations and individuals for helping us defend the free press rights of student journalists.

As a 501 c-3 nonprofit, nonpartisan organization, the SPLC depends on donations from those who are committed to its vision and work. All donations are tax-deductible to the extent allowed by law. Questions? Contact Diana Mitsu Klos at To join this esteemed list, please donate here.

Read SPLC’s policies regarding donors, gifts, grants and sponsorships.

2019 Contributors, Jan. 1 to July 31

$100,000 or more

The Democracy Fund
Robert R. McCormick Foundation
Yellow Chair Foundation

$75,000 to $99,999

Ethics and Excellence in Journalism Foundation

$50,000 to $74,999

Sandler Foundation (in memory of Nick Ferentinos)

$25,000 to $49,000

$10,000 to $24,999

Journalism Education Association
Hugh M. Hefner Foundation

$5,000 to $9,999

Center for Scholastic Journalism, Kent State University (co-sponsor of the Courage in Student Journalism Award)

$1,000 to $4,999

Candace and John Bowen
Colorado Student Media Association
Mark Goodman
Loretta Mince
David McCraw
Ohio Scholastic Media Association
Mark Stencel
Western Association of University Publication Managers

$500 to $999

Christopher and Rebecca Corbett
Benjamin Cotton
Ryan and Elizabeth Gunterman
Kathleen Deakins
Timothy Jasionowski
Diana Mitsu Klos
Michael Koretzky
Catherine Robb
Quill and Scroll
Margaret Sullivan

$250 to $499

Richard Blumenstein
Judith Buddenbaum
Robert Choy
Michaela Galluzzo
Dina Ferentinos
Illinois Journalism Education Association
Kettle Moraine Press Association
Ava Lubell
Stephen Lambert
Carl and Ann Schierhorn
Kelly Wilkerson

$100 to $249

Dayo Abah
Jerry Appel
Bold Eagle Newspaper, Southern Berkshire Regional School District
Karen Bosley
Lee Brooks
David Clark
Christie Cosky
Margery DiCesare
Thomas Eveslage
Forge Press Yearbook, Colonial Forge High School, Stafford, Va.
Annette Ghee
Lauren Lawley Head
High Tide and Pilot, Redondo Union High School, Redondo Beach, Calif.
Mike Hoefner
Jewish Community Federation of San Francisco
Journalism Program, Johnston (Iowa) High School
Paul Kandell
Journalism Program, North Platte (Neb.) High School
Danielle Kass
Eileen Kramer
John Kupetz
Ben Leubsdorf
Katharine Martin
Beatrice Motamedi
Northeastern Illinois University, Student Media Organizations, Chicago
Nick Ochsner
Katina Paron
Pawesehi Yearbook &, Parkway West High School, Ballwin, Mo.
Pitt News, University of Pittsburgh
Frank Philpot
John David Reed
Rachel Robson
Brian Rollins
Spinnaker Media, University of North Florida, Jacksonville
Sara Stone
The Bruin Voice, Bear Creek High School, Stockton, Calif.
The Bulldog Bugle, Animo Jefferson Middle School, Los Angeles
The Clipper, Everett (Wash.) Community College
The Express, San Juan High School, San Juan Capistrano, Calif.
The Gatepost, Framingham (Mass.) State University
The Lynx Liberator, Rhodes College, Memphis, Tenn.
The Muse, Alexander W. Dreyfoos School of the Arts, West Palm Beach. Fla.
The Reflector, University of Indianapolis
The Reporter, Miami Dade College, Miami
The Spoke, Conestoga High School, Berwyn, Pa.
The Standard, Missouri State University, Springfield
Susan Tantillo
Erik Ugland
Ursus yearbook, Granite Bay (Calif.) High School
Virginia Association of Journalism Teachers and Advisers
Wendy Wallace
Christopher Ware
West Side Story, West High School, Iowa City, Iowa
Stan Zoller

Gifts were made in honor of

Candace Bowen
Dennis Brown
Ben Cotton & Abigail Fisch
Kathi Duffel
Brenda Field
Mateo J. Gold
Hadar Harris
Mike Hiestand
Liz Levin
Josh Miller
Scott Sternberg
Susan Tantillo
David Zeeck

Gifts were made in memory of

Dave Adams
Marjorie Brooks
Nick Ferentinos
Jim McKinney
Janet Zamboni

Contributors from past years