Freedom fighters honored by SPLC

A student newspaper at a Virginia college and four student newspaper editors at an Ohio high school that battled efforts by school administrators to control the content of their publications have been named the winners of student press freedom awards co-sponsored by the Student Press Law Center.

The staff of The Script at Hampton University received the 2004 College Press Freedom award on Saturday, Nov.

Overcoming Hazelwood

Nearly two decades ago, Hazelwood v. Kuhlmeier turned student journalism on its head by vastly expanding the amount of control school administrators could exercise over some forms of school-sponsored student expression, including some student newspapers.

The 1988 Supreme Court ruling reflected a paradigm shift from the 1969 case Tinker v.